Spend Less Time Cleaning with These Crafty Cleaning Tips

i dreamed my whole house was clean

Ahhh…the whole house…clean…and all at the same time

It’s something we all struggle with-especially those who have young children, multiple children, work outside the home, or have a chronic illness.  For many, not much time can be squeezed out for cleaning unless it’s an all day marathon!  I do try to have a cleaning schedule every day, though it’s sometime difficult or impossible with life’s little surprises: everyone gets sick sometimes, last-minute appointments and responsibilities never fit neatly into the schedule, seasonal happenings happen…every season.

So here’s how I keep my house looking its best, even on the busiest of days.

super wife

Instead of one giant cleaning session at a time, I take 15, 10, or even 5 minute cleaning breaks during the day.

  • Before I leave the bathroom in the morning, I take a baby wipe (which I always have on hand) and wipe down the inside of the sink, counter, and the commode tank.
  • Take glass cleaning wipes and get those toothpaste spatters off the mirrors.
  • I always put squirt of soap in my (clean) toilet brush caddy so I can swish the bowl, flush, and be done.

This has been the easiest way for me to keep the bathroom clean and allows me to spend my deep cleaning days getting down to the nitty-gritty instead of messing with what should have been upkeep.  While this sounds like a lot, in reality it only takes a few minutes to do, and your bathroom stays cleaner for it.

  • After everyone leaves the house, I take 5 minutes and rinse the dishes (or  you can put them in the dishwasher), put away the mess leftover from breakfast and wipe down your counters, and viola! The kitchen is once again tidy.

You know how after you do dishes, more magically appear in the sink, and it’s always right before bed?  No? (Either it’s just me, or I want some of your magic!)

  • I have a plastic pan that fits in my sink, for the sole purpose of holding dirty dishes because I don’t have a dishwasher.   There’s always something waiting to be washed, and I’m not going to do dishes right before bed.  That’s why they all go in the pan, then under the cabinet.  This lets me wake up to a clean and shiny sink, ready for breakfast duty and coffee making!
  • When it’s time to do dishes, I pull the pan out and place everything in fresh, hot, soapy dishwater.  It’s also a lifesaver when I have unexpected company and dirty dishes just hanging out.  If you don’t have room under your sink or counter, it can fit in your oven. Just don’t forget it’s there!
tap-791172_1920
a shiny sink is a happy sink!
  • My children are all past the stage of playing in the bathtub, but when they were little, I always had a basket for toys after bath. I would  rinse them basket and all when I rinsed the tub and hung it on a suction cup.  When it was time to clean my tub I didn’t have to clean up after the little ones.  Now, everybody rinses the tub after bathing and all I have to do in the mornings is collect washrags for laundry and close the shower curtain.

Phoenix_bathroom_Residence_Inn_Marriott_hotel_with_towels_and_shower

  • I ask my family to take their dishes to the sink and rinse them immediately when they are done with them.  This keeps the dining room table cleaner and allows me a no-fuss area to work on my blog and digital art in the morning.
  • My personal favorite? Keep a basket in the living room that’s used for picking up all the things that don’t belong.  When it’s full, or at a designated time, put those items wherever they go-and if they are your spouses or kids items, give it to them to put away.  The same goes for any room that collects clutter-this way everything will find its home quickly before it becomes clutter.
  • This is how I keep my home in decent shape daily, that way when an unexpected visitor shows up, it doesn’t look we’ve been hit with a hurricane.

What do you do to help keep your home in shape?  I would love to know!

Until next time, stay crafty!

Leave a Reply

